84th Floor, Baiyoke Sky Tower

Putting visiting landmarks as our last stop before we leave the city is an intentional choice. Over the past years, I have traveled to Bangkok three times, I first noticed the building on my first trip, an orange, tall building, similar to the Leaning Tower of Pisa but standing straight with an LED advertisement board set at the top, I chatted with a taxi driver during the second time to Bangkok during the car trip back from Asiatique to our hotel, we stayed at the Pathum Wan Area and the driver ask me whether that is near the tallest building at that area to which I had no idea. I later then googled the tallest building in Bangkok and it came third (after Magnolias Waterfront Residences Tower 1 and MahaNakhon as per Google says).

Before my third trip to Bangkok in a year, I watched Analog Squad on Netflix and this place was shown in Episode 5 when they were going about on a city tour. I did a little bit of research and found this place and put this on my “must-visit place in Bangkok” list. And I did.

The observatory deck is located on the 84th Floor, to be able to reach the top you will need to use 3 different lifts. We booked a buffet on the 81st Floor and after dinner, we went up to the 84th floor. This is a famous hotel but from the outside, it looks quite obsolete apparently, there were a lot of tourists checking in and out of the hotel. I am afraid of heights but I love watching the city from a very high tall point, so if I have a chance and if the place that I traveled to happened to have an observatory deck, I definitely would not miss it.

Things sometimes look more complete when you see them from a high viewpoint or from afar and you will notice how small you are.

As the obeservatory revolving constantly, you’ll get a 180 degree views of the city without walking around, it was defenitely very windy but I like it a lot. After a long day of walking, this is exactly where i want to stop and rest for a while.

The buffet was okay because we are not really in the mood of eating at that time (we have mess-up eating schedule when we are traveling)

You can see some of the photos of this trip here

Until next time.